The Heliocentrics release new LP – A World Of Masks – on Soundway Records

Pre-orders are being taken now at Soundway Records for the the new LP by London psychedelic jazz collective The Heliocentrics. The band have their roots in the ‘90s when drummer Malcolm Catto recorded for Mo’Wax and Jazzman. They recorded their breakthrough album for Stones Throw, Out There in 2007 and have since collaborated with Ethio jazz pioneer Mulatu Astatke, jazz and world music expert Lloyd Miller and Afro soul saxophonist, Orlando Julius.

To order, go to The Heliocentrics’ Bandcamp page or visit Soundway Records.

Weird Together

Weird Together are a fresh and exciting new act on Soundway Records and were formed in New Zealand in 2012. The band are Karima Madut (vocals), Mavs Adegbite (percussion/vocals), Izak Chadderton (steel pan), Alesano Schuster (steel pan), The Gaza Tripp (guitar) and Yonier Cuevas Vega (MC). They fuse musical influences from Africa, South America and the Caribbean. They were formed through Tokyo based New Zealand journalist and DJ, Nick Dwyer and Auckland based English music producer and DJ, Dick “Magik J” Johnson.

Weird Together, New Zealand based band

Weird Together, New Zealand based band (image: Soundway Records)

Video for their new release No Compromise stars Karima Madut, Albert Akuoko, Joel Orleans, Gyedu Blay Abolley, Ebo Taylor, Patience and the people of Accra.